List of Karyotyping Tests


A karyotype is the unique language of cytogenetics that translates what is analytically observed from multiple cells of a specimen into a universally understood string of alphanumeric symbols. The sex chromosomes are generally placed at the end of a karyogram.


Karyotyping is a technique to grow chromosomes, while karyotype is a method or procedure to arrange it using either manual method or computational software. Karyotype analysis is a culture-based technique whereby new viable tissue cells are grown and arrested in the metaphase stage of cell division.

Conventional karyotyping is most useful for detecting congenital genetic diseases and is often used in conjunction with medical autopsies of stillborns. Spectral karyotyping is a sophisticated and most recent optimization of the traditional methods in which every chromosomal pair is coloured with different dyes.

How is the test done?

The test can be performed on almost any tissue, including:

  • Amniotic fluid
  • Blood
  • Bone marrow

For infertile couples, the test is usually done via a blood draw, from both the male and female partner. The blood samples are then processed in a lab. A karyotype is a test to identify and evaluate the size, shape, and number of chromosomes in a sample of body cells.

Cells from the blood sample are placed in a particular container to encourage them to grow. Once the cells reach a specific stage of growth, the cells are stained and studied under a microscope.

What do the Test Results Mean?

A typical test result will show 46 chromosomes. Two of these 46 chromosomes are sex chromosomes, which determine the sex of the person being tested, and 44 of them are autosomes.

Abnormalities that appear in a test sample could be the result of any number of genetic syndromes or conditions. Sometimes, an anomaly will occur in the lab sample that’s not reflected in your body. The karyotype test may be repeated to confirm that there’s an abnormality.

Show Filters

Showing all 9 results

List of Karyotyping Test collection centres in India is Mumbai, Delhi, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Chennai, Kolkata, Surat, Pune, Jaipur, Visakhapatnam, Kanpur, Nagpur, Lucknow, Thane, Bhopal, Indore, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Patna, Vadodara, Ghaziabad, Ludhiana, Agra, Nashik, Faridabad, Meerut, Rajkot, Kalyan-Dombivli, Vasai-Virar, Varanasi, Srinagar, Aurangabad, Dhanbad, Amritsar, Navi, Mumbai, Allahabad, Howrah, Ranchi, Gwalior, Jabalpur, Coimbatore, Vijayawada, Jodhpur, Madurai, Raipur, Chandigarh, Guntur, Guwahati, Solapur, Hubli–Dharwad, Mysore, Tiruchirappalli, Bareilly, Moradabad, Tiruppur, Gurgaon, Aligarh, Jalandhar, Bhubaneswar, Salem, Mira-Bhayandar, Warangal, Jalgaon, Kota, Bhiwandi, Saharanpur, Gorakhpur, Bikaner, Amravati, Noida, Jamshedpur, Bhilai, Cuttack, Firozabad, Kochi, Nellore, Bhavnagar, Dehradun, Durgapur, Asansol, Rourkela, Nanded, Kolhapur, Ajmer, Akola.